Tuesday, May 7, 6:00pm
Jazz and Friends

Book Readings and Discussions
at Gladwyne Elementary School

Educators, families, allies, and community members are all invited to join us in sharing wonderful books and lively discussions about supporting transgender and non-binary youth. Children’s Book World will be there with a generous selection of related books for sale.

For more information contact wilsond@lmsd.org


Saturday, May 18, 1:00pm
Catherine Gilbert Murdock
The Book of Boy
Newbery Honor Book Celebration!

Catherine Gilbert Murdock’s The Book of Boy was selected as one of two Newbery Honor titles for this year. Full of magic, intrigue and mystery, this epic tale set in the 14th century follows a young boy’s quest as he and a mysterious pilgrim search for relics of St. Peter! Fans of The Inquisitor’s Tale or Where the Mountain Meets the Moon will love this book.

We are excited to be able to invite you to come meet Catherine Murdock and help her celebrate The Book of Boy’s selection as a 2019 Newbery Honor Book!

If you are unable to make it to Children’s Book World for this event, use the link below to order you very own copy of this Newbery Honor Book!

The Book of Boy
Order Book
$16.99
Shipping available within USA.
Name for Personalization
 

Saturday, May 18, 10:00am to 3:00pm
Haverford Kids’ Comic Fest
Haverford Middle School

For the 6th year, Children’s Book World will participate in Haverford’s Comic Fest and we can’t wait! There will be panels and workshops for comic lovers from 7 – 13 with a few panels for 10-18 year olds. At the Fest you can talk one-on-one with comic creators and purchase their sketches and prints—and of course Children’s Book World will have some great books for you to buy!

For more information visit:
http://www.hkcfest.org/


Monday, May 20, 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Let’s Talk
Lankenau Medical Center Auditorium

Pre-adolescents have questions about physical, emotional, and social changes happening to them, so let’s talk about it! Join Human Sexuality Educator Al Vernacchio for an age-appropriate, medically accurate, and cringe-free presentation. Children’s Book World will be there with a selection of well-written and helpful books for purchase.

The presentation is free but space is limited so please RSVP at https://jenit0.wixsite.com/gain


Saturday, June 1, 1:00pm 
Amy Rebecca Tan 
A Kind of Paradise

Oh, do we love stories about the power of books! And author Amy Rebecca Tan is just our kind of writer. She works in a public library and an independent bookstore and now she’s written an unforgettable story called A Kind of Paradise. It’s about 13 year-old Jamie Bunn who made a BIG mistake at the end of the school year.

Her punishment is to spend her summer volunteering at the local library. What a waste of a summer! Or so she thinks… This book is all about the power of community, the power of the library, and the power of forgiveness.

Come to ‘our kind of paradise’ — Children’s Book World — to meet Amy and learn about her brand new book on June 1 at 1:00pm. If you can’t join us, you can get your very own signed copy by using the button below!

A Kind of Paradise
Order Book
$16.99
Shipping available within USA.
Name for Personalization
 

Saturday, June 8, 1:00pm 
Adrienne Wright 
Hector: A Boy, A Protest, and the Photograph that Changed Apartheid 
Launch Party!

Hector Pieterson loved hanging out with friends, playing soccer, watching movies, and spending time with his family; he was an ordinary 12 year-old boy living in South Africa. On June 16, 1976 he went to school and got caught up in a protest against a new law requiring that children be taught half of their subjects in Afrikaans, the language of the White government. The story’s events unfold from the perspectives of Hector, his sister, and the photographer who captured their photo in the chaos.

This powerful picture book is heartbreaking yet relevant and it sheds light on events that helped lead to the end of apartheid.

June 16 is now a national holiday in South Africa, honoring this ordinary boy whose trip to school ended his life and the photo of that event that changed his country.

Meet local author-illustrator Adrienne Wright to celebrate her debut book at Children’s Book World on Saturday, June 8 at 1pm. If you can’t make on June 8th, use the button below to order a copy signed by Adrienne Wright!

Hector: A Boy, A Protest, and the Photograph that Changed Apartheid
Order Book
$18.99
Shipping available within USA.
Name for Personalization
 

Tuesday, June 11, 11:00am
Mickey Ripkin
It’s Not a Bed, It’s a Time Machine
Storytime and Book Signing!

Everyone knows that getting a child into bed can be difficult, but wouldn’t it change everything if you knew that It’s Not a Bed, It’s a Time Machine Mickey Rapkin, author of Pitch Perfect, has written his first book for children and it hits all the right notes. His way of looking at bedtime: close your eyes and BAM it’s morning and time for pancakes! During the hours in between you can go on adventures that make bedtime something to look forward to. But before you jump into your own time machine, come to Children’s Book World to meet Mickey and hear It’s Not a Bed, It’s a Time Machine.

And if your time machine is in the shop so you can’t join us… use the link below to order your signed copy today!

It’s Not a Bed, It’s a Time Machine
Order Book
$17.99
Shipping available within USA.
Name for Personalization
 

Thursday, June 20, 7:00 pm 
Laura Sibson 
The Art of Breaking Things 

Launch Party!

The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson is a YA novel in the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr.

Skye just wants to finish high school, go to art school, and not look back. Unfortunately, difficult circumstances force her to embrace the power of her own voice and break the rules to save herself and her family. This stunning debut novel is timely and empowering. Laura Sibson will be at Children’s Book World to talk about and sign her moving and powerful first novel.

If you are unable to attend, please use the link below to order your personalized copy of this fierce, independent first novel.

The Art of Breaking Things
Order Book
$18.99
Shipping available within USA.
Name for Personalization
 

Saturday, June 22, 1:00 pm 
Anne Lambelet 
Dogs and Their People

Launch Party!

Calling all dog lovers! Dogs and Their People is a delightful picture book about a young girl and her thoughts as she walks home and sees people with their dogs. We all love the funny observations and the charming illustrations in Anne Lambelet’s newest book celebrating our best friends.

Be sure to bring a picture of you and your furry best friend – dog, cat or whatever – to the launch party, along with a favorite furry stuffed animal if you have one! Check back for more details of the fun things we have planned!

Dogs and Their People
Order Book
$17.99
Shipping available within USA.
Name for Personalization
 

Please join our mailing list (see sidebar, top right) so you can be the first to know more information about these events.